Palliative Care Awards Nomination Form 20222022-06-30T11:56:32+10:00

2022 Tasmanian Palliative Care Awards

Nomination Form

Criteria and eligibility

  • Entry is free
  • Nominations should take about 10 minutes
  • Nominations close at midnight, July 18th, 2022.
  • A person can be nominated for multiple award categories, but each nomination must be submitted on a separate nomination form
  • Self-nominations are accepted
  • The nominee(s) must be residing in Tasmania
  • It is expected that nominees that are chosen as finalists will attend the Awards
  • All nomination information, photos and supporting materials collected during the process may be used and distributed by PCT for media and promotional purposes.
  • Nominations that are incomplete or not received by the due date will not be accepted
  • The primary organisation the work was undertaken with will be notified if the person is a finalist.
  • If you have a question regarding Awards eligibility, please contact or call (03) 6231 2799.

This form is currently closed for submissions.

Frequently Asked Questions (click to expand)

Who is eligible for nomination? Can I nominate myself or my workplace?2020-08-25T21:09:51+10:00

Each category has its own eligibility criteria which can be found under each category description. Self-nominations are welcome and encouraged. One of the goals of this Awards program is to let people know about the many and varied ways that people contribute to Palliative Care organisations.

I work for the organisation that is sponsoring the Award. Can I still nominate for this Award?2020-08-25T21:09:24+10:00

Yes. The Awards are not judged by sponsors.

How do I nominate someone for an award?2020-08-25T21:08:46+10:00

Nominations are made via the online official nomination forms listed under each category. Paper nomination forms are also available by request by contacting or call (03) 6231 2799.

How many nominations can I make?2020-08-25T21:08:22+10:00

There is no limit, however each nomination must be made on a separate form.

When do nominations close?2022-05-24T11:11:28+10:00

Midnight 18th July 2022

How do I know if you have received my nomination?2020-08-25T21:07:30+10:00

All online nominations will be acknowledged by email on submission. If you do not receive an automated email, please email Paper nominations will be acknowledged on receipt by phone or email.

Can I nominate someone but not give my name?2020-08-25T21:07:03+10:00

No. We need your name and contact details in case your nomination gets to the finalist round. You are also required to get permission from the person you are nominating.

Do I have to tell the nominee I am nominating them?2020-08-25T21:06:37+10:00

Yes. It is a condition of entry that you have informed the nominee. Please do not nominate someone if they have asked you not to but do encourage them. Recognition for the work they do is important and provides awareness of Palliative Care in the community.

Please note that you will also be required to provide contact details for the nominee as part of your nomination form. We also suggest talking about the questions with them – they may be able to offer some extra information

How are the nominations judged and the finalists chosen?2020-08-25T21:05:53+10:00

Nominations will be assessed by a Selection Panel. Nominations will be judged based on the answers given to the questions on the nomination form.

Whoops! I just found out more about my nominee, can I redo my nomination?2020-08-25T21:05:26+10:00

Yes. Please re-do your nomination form, then send us an email to tell us to replace your first nomination with your new one. In your email please give us your contact details and the category you had nominated under so we can find your first nomination easily. Our email is

When are the winners announced?2022-05-24T11:12:40+10:00

Winners will be announced 25th July 2022

How will the Awards ceremony take place this year due to Covid192020-08-25T21:00:47+10:00

The 2020 Awards ceremony will be held online on the 5th of November 2020
From 1pm – 2pm. Please save the date. All finalists and their nominators will be invited to attend via zoom link.

Can I nominate someone who has deceased?2020-08-25T20:59:47+10:00


Can I nominate someone who has won before?2020-08-25T20:59:06+10:00


How are nominees, finalists and winners acknowledged?2020-08-25T20:58:29+10:00

All nominees, finalists will receive a certificate.
Category winners will receive a trophy.

What is the Community Charter Award?2020-08-25T20:57:42+10:00

The Tasmanian Palliative Care Community Charter is the result of extensive consultations with Tasmanian service providers and community members, including Tasmanian Aboriginals and people from a range of cultures and social groups. The following principles reflect the voices of Tasmanians about what matters most to them.
The award is open to any individual or organisation supporting Tasmanians with a life-limiting illness and their families. This is an individual or organisation that has demonstrated excellence in embedding one or more of the
Charter Principals into practice.

The Charter is built on a Compassionate Communities approach, which recognises that palliative care is an important, shared responsibility for all Tasmanians. At the end of life, we all need to know that services and resources are available to us, our carers and other people who are important to us.

The Charter demonstrates our shared commitment to advocate for compassionate and quality palliative care.
The Tasmanian community and service providers are committed to the following principles:

  • Relief from Pain and Other Causes of Distress
  • Respect, Dignity and Person-Centred Care
  • Good Communication
  • Coordination of Care
  • Place of Care and Place of Death
  • Fair Access to Care
  • Help with Planning End-of-Life Care
  • Support for People Important to Us
  • Support for the Unique Needs of Children, Young People and our Families
  • Support for Aboriginal People in Tasmania

Key Partners

The Awards would simply not be possible without the support of our wonderful partners who are committed to the sector and the people within it. We encourage everyone to support the organisations that support us. Thank you to the following community and category partners: