Her Excellency the Honourable Barbara Baker Governor of Tasmania was announced as Palliative Care Tasmania’s inaugural Patron.

Palliative Care Tasmania’s CEO Colleen Johnstone said

“It is such an incredible honour to have the patronage of the Governor, Her Excellency the Honourable Barbara Baker as our first official Patron, to have the support and advocacy of Her Excellency is a wonderful endorsement of the important work of our sector. We are truly delighted.”

Her Excellency the Honourable Barbara Baker AC and Emeritus Professor Don Chalmers AO hosted 50 finalists and invited guests for the announcement the 2021 Tasmanian Palliative Care Awards and 2021 Tasmanian Palliative Care Honour Roll inductee which was awarded to Professor Fran McInerney.

2021 Tasmanian Palliative Care Awards acknowledge those in the palliative care sector who have stood out as exemplars of excellence and provide an example to others of what constitutes top quality palliative care.

In 2021 we are particularly pleased to include new categories that acknowledge not just providers and professionals, but the substantial unpaid workforce—volunteers, carers, and advocates—on whom the sector also relies for its success and to acknowledge the ongoing efforts of palliative care in aged care and
community settings.

Congratulations to all the nominees, finalists, runners up and winners of the 2021 Tasmanian Palliative Care Awards 

1) Outstanding Palliative Care Professional

The joint winners were;
• Dr Tim Andrewartha, Doctor, Specialist Palliative Care Service – North West
• Carmen Halton, Palliative Care Consultant, Whittle Palliative Care Unit – Hobart

The runner up was
• Suzette Long, Extended Care Assistant, Masonic Care Tasmania – Launceston

2) Outstanding Palliative Care Service Provider

The winner was;
• Jon DeLaine, Specialist Palliative Care Service (Team Leader) – North West

The runners up were;
• Ros Brealey and Megan Blake-Uren, Cancer Support Centre Launceston (Supportive Care Coordinator) – Launceston

3) Outstanding Achievement in Palliative Care

The winner was;
• Helen Lawson, Assistant Nurse Unit Manager – Whittle Palliative Care Unit – Hobart

The runners up were
• Jon DeLaine Specialist Palliative Care Service (Team Leader) – North West
• Chris Sierzant Health Literacy Officer, TasCOSS – Hobart

4) Excellence in Palliative Care – Aged Care setting

The winner was;
•  Jenny Davidson Civic Square Surgery – Launceston

The runners up were
• George Wilson, One Care-Bishop Davies Court – Hobart
• Dr Stuart Guest, Newstead Medical – Launceston

5) Excellence in Palliative Care – Community setting

The winner was;
• Brendan Murfett The District Nurses, Hobart

The runners up were;
• Melanie Makaryn, Launceston Community Nursing Service – Launceston

• Helen Jarman, Clinical Nurse Educator -End of Life Project – Hobart

6) Outstanding Palliative Care Volunteer/Carer

The joint winners were:
• Edwina Colvin, Volunteer Carer and Therapy dog handler – Blackwood Creek -North
• Frances Thomas, Carer, Eagle Hawk Neck

The runner up was:
• Rowena Howard
Carer, Mount Seymour

7) ‘Joy Coghlan’ Tasmanian Palliative Care Honour Roll

This Award recognises contributions to the sector of long term, excellence putting a spotlight on those who have gone above and beyond.

The 2021 Tasmanian Palliative Care Honour Roll recognises Professor Fran McInerney

Professor Fran McInerney is a registered nurse and health sociologist. Her clinical, education and research practice are in the fields of aged and palliative care. Prior to her position as Professor of Dementia Studies and Education at the Wicking Dementia Research and Education Centre, Fran held joint clinical professorial appointments at the Australian Catholic University and sat on the board of Alzheimer’s Australia Victoria and Palliative Care Australia. Her clinical practice in aged care, palliative care, and dementia care spas more than 30 years. She has engaged in education and applied research in areas including teaching aged care facilities, advance care planning, dementia palliation, media representations of health, illness, and death, and dementia knowledge and literacy over that time, publishing and presenting extensively in these fields.

8) Announcement of the 2021 Nursing Diversity Scholarships

PCT in partnership with the ANMF and supported by the Tasmanian Government are proud to announce
the following recipients of the 2021 Post Graduate Nursing Diversity Scholarships.

• John Delaine Registered Nurse (Burnie)
• Sonia Dwarte Registered Neurosurgery Nurse (Hobart)
• Melissa Hamersley Registered Nurse (Latrobe)
• Ong Xi Ong Registered Nurse Masonic Care Tasmania. (Hobart)

Each winner will receive a scholarship of over $5000 each to complete post graduate studies in palliative
care. They will also be supported by Flinders University, ANMF and PCT.

For more information please contact:
Venéy Hiller, Palliative Care Tasmania | P: 0415 236 934 | E: veney.hiller@pct.org.au
W: pallcaretas.org.au | F: @PallCareTas

Palliative Care Tasmania (PCT) is the State’s peak body for palliative services. Our vision is that all Tasmanians
with a life-limiting illness, together with those they value, are supported to live, die and grieve well. Our
mission is to lead and influence policy and practice, advocate, educate and support people of all ages to
access quality palliative care.