Palliative Care Tasmania is delighted to announce the finalists in the 5th Annual Tasmanian Palliative Care Awards that celebrate excellence across the state and sector.

Finalists have been selected by a panel of peers on the basis of overall merit, excellence and contribution. This year we received the highest number of nominations which made for robust deliberations and difficult decisions. We thank all the nominators for the time and care they took with the nomination process.


Finalists in Alphabetical Order

1) Outstanding Palliative Care Professional

Proudly supported by: Millingtons Funerals and Cemeteries

  1. Tim Andrewartha
    Doctor, Specialist Palliative Care Service, NW
  2. Carmen Halton
    Palliative Care Consultant, Whittle Ward, Hobart
  3. Suzette Long
    Extended Care Assistant, Masonic Care Tasmania, Launceston

2) Outstanding Palliative Care Service Provider

Proudly supported by TPT Wealth

  1. Megan Blake-Uren
    Cancer Support Centre Launceston (Supportive Care Coordinator), Launceston
  2. Ros Brealey
    Cancer Support Centre Launceston (Supportive Care Coordinator), Launceston
  3. Jon Delaine
    Specialist Palliative Care Service (Team Leader), NW


3) Outstanding Achievement in Palliative Care

Proudly supported by Inclusive Creatives

  1. Jon Delaine
    Specialist Palliative Care Service (Team Leader), NW
  2. Helen Lawson
    Assistant Nurse Unit Manager – Whittle Ward, Hobart
  3. Chris Sierzant
    Health Literacy Officer, TasCOSS, Hobart


4) Excellence in Palliative Care – Aged Care setting

Proudly supported by HESTA

  1. Jenny Davidson
    Civic Square Surgery, Launceston
  2. Stuart Guest
    Newstead Medical, Launceston
  3. George Wilson
    One Care-Bishop Davies Court, Hobart


5) Excellence in Palliative Care – Community setting

Proudly supported by ANMF

  1. Helen Jarman
    CNC End of Life Project, Hobart
  2. Melanie Makaryn
    Launceston Community Nursing Service, Launceston
  3. Brendan Murfett
    The District Nurses, Hobart


6) Outstanding Palliative Care Volunteer/Carer

Proudly supported by Carers Tasmania and Care2Serve

  1. Edwina Colvin
    Volunteer Carer and Therapy dog handler, Blackwood Creek -North
  2. Rowena Howard
    Carer, Mount Seymour
  3. Frances Thomas
    Carer, Eagle Hawk Neck


Thanks to the generous support of Her Excellency the Honourable Barbara Baker AC the Governor of Tasmania,  the winners will be announced  on November 23rd 2021 at Government House.