Palliative Care Tasmania is delighted to announce the finalists in the 7th Annual Tasmanian Palliative Care Awards that celebrate excellence across the state and sector.

Finalists have been selected by a panel of peers on the basis of overall merit, excellence and contribution. This year we received the highest number of nominations which made for robust deliberations and difficult decisions. We thank all the nominators for the time and care they took with the nomination process.

1) Outstanding Palliative Care Professional

Proudly supported by Millingtons Funerals and Cemeteries

The 2023 finalist are (in alphabetical order):

  • Dr. Cyril Latt – General Practitioner, St Marys Community Health Centre
  • David Knowles – General Practitioner, Glebe Hill Family Practice
  • Jane Cooper – General Practitioner, Don Medical Clinic

2) Outstanding Palliative Care Volunteer/Carer

Proudly supported by Volunteering Tasmania

The 2023 finalist are (in alphabetical order):

  • Karen Zabiegala – Volunteer, Tasman Neighbourhood House
  • Ken Webster – Volunteer Carer
  • Mary Harper – Volunteer, Specialist Palliative Care Service North

3) Outstanding Palliative Care Service Provider

Proudly supported by The Public Trustee

The 2023 finalist are (in alphabetical order):

  • Calvary Melwood Unit – Calvary St Luke’s Hospital
  • Robert Johnston – Hospital Service Manager, Calvary St Luke’s Hospital (Melwood Unit)
  • Stevie Dwyer – Care coordinator, Calvary St John’s Hospital (Gibson Unit)

4) Outstanding Achievement in Palliative Care

Proudly supported by The District Nurses

The 2023 finalist are (in alphabetical order):

  • Krista Rosewarne – Registered Nurse, J.W Whittle Palliative Care Unit
  • Melanie Makaryn – Registered Nurse, Launceston Community Nursing
  • Melissa Staples – Community Development Officer, Kingborough Council

5) Excellence in Palliative Care – Aged Care setting

Proudly supported by ACCPA

The 2023 finalist are (in alphabetical order):

  • Dr. Anna De Vries – GP – Aged Care
  • Clare King – Registered Nurse, OneCare
  • Suzette Long – Carer, Masonic Homes – Peace Haven

6) Excellence in Palliative Care – Community setting

Proudly supported by Caring@home

The 2023 finalist are (in alphabetical order):

  • Jacqueline Flood – Registered Nurse, Launceston Community Nursing
  • Lucinda De Bruyn – Registered Nurse, Queenstown Community Nursing
  • Rachel Foster – Project Officer, Hospice Volunteers

Thanks to the generous support of Her Excellency the Honourable Barbara Baker AC the Governor of Tasmania,  the winners will be announced on August 8th 2023 at Government House.