Palliative Care Tasmania is pleased to announce the finalists of the 2020 Tasmanian Palliative Care Awards, celebrating compassion and excellence in the sector.

The judging process has been extraordinarily difficult this year which has resulted in multiple finalists in each category.

The category judges would like to acknowledge the high calibre of diverse nominations in each of the four categories and would like to thank every nominator for their efforts in nominating.

“There are so many untold stories, so many examples of selflessness, compassion and commitment, I was genuinely honoured to be reading the nominations and then genuinely horrified that I had to choose between them” said a new member of the judging panel.

The Honourable Sarah Courtney MP Minister for Health, Tasmanian Senator Catryna Bilyk and Her Excellency, the Honourable Professor Kate Warner Governor of Tasmania will join finalists and invited guests  on November 5th for the announcement of the runner up and winner of each category in an online awards ceremony hosted by Palliative Care Tasmania.

Congratulations to the following finalists:

Outstanding Palliative Care Organisation (proudly supported by Millingtons)
The finalists in alphabetical order are:

  • Specialist Palliative Care Service North West
  • Uniting AgeWell, Aldersgate Kings Meadows
  • Volunteer Support Service, Specialist Palliative Care Service – Northern Region

Outstanding Palliative Care Volunteer/Carer
(proudly supported by Carers Tasmania)
The finalists in alphabetical order are:

  • Country Women’s Association Tasmania
  • Erin Gunson – Carer
  • Margot Walton – Specialist Palliative Care Service North

Outstanding Palliative Care Advocate
(proudly supported by HESTA)
The finalists in alphabetical order are:

  • Tassie Death Café
  • Palliative Care, North Auxiliary
  • PEPA – Program of Experience in the Palliative Approach, Tasmania
  • Tracey Percival-Ingram – Li-ve Tasmania

Outstanding Palliative Care Professional
(proudly supported by Millingtons)
The finalists in alphabetical order are:

  • Anna Nicholas -Tasmanian Health Service, Royal Hobart Hospital
  • Dr Jehan Phillips – GP
  • Dr Kate Greenhill – Icon Cancer Centre
  • Judith Harris – Tasmanian Health Service, Specialist Palliative Care Service, North West
  • Lorraine Willcox– Family Based Care Tasmania
  • Maris Kingston and Peter Davey – Calvary Health Care Tasmania
  • Viki Elphinstone – Hospice Care Association of North West Tasmania Inc


The inaugural Tasmanian Palliative Care Honour Roll will also recognise our first two inductees

  • Traci Crole
  • Dr David Saner


The 2020 Tasmanian Palliative Care Awards would not be possible without the generous support of our community partners. Their contribution enables the stories of our sector to be told.